WW/TRUCKINGRA
US DOT earmarks $11.95M for truck parking near Port of Savannah
USDOT has earmarked $11.95M for truck parking in Garden City, Georgia, near the Port of Savannah — but the announcement does not yet say how many spaces the funding will deliver or who will build them.
- Desk
- Trucking & Rail
- By
- Marcus Bennett
- Filed
- Length
- 692 words
- Read
- 3 min

Key points05
- The U.S. Transportation Secretary earmarked $11.95 million for truck parking in Garden City, Georgia, as reported by WTOC
- Garden City Terminal, the Port of Savannah's main facility, handled a record 5.9 million TEU in fiscal 2024 per Georgia Ports Authority reporting
- At typical $25,000-$50,000 per space, the award could deliver 240 to 480 new truck stalls if fully spent on construction
- Federal hours-of-service rules cap driving at 11 hours and require 10 consecutive hours off-duty, intensifying the demand for legal parking
- The announcement does not specify the funding source, recipient entity, matching-funds requirement, or completion date
The U.S. Transportation Secretary has earmarked $11.95 million for truck parking in Garden City, the industrial corridor wrapped around the Port of Savannah's main container terminal, WTOC reported.
What the announcement actually says
The dollar figure is concrete. The rest of the item carried by WTOC is thinner. The brief does not specify how many spaces the funding will create, whether the money flows to a single site or several, what entity — Georgia DOT, the Coastal Regional Commission, or a private lessor — receives the award, or when construction starts.
That matters, because truck parking has been the most-studied, least-funded chokepoint in U.S. road freight for more than a decade.
Why this lane, and why now
Garden City is not a generic Georgia town. It hosts the Garden City Terminal, the concrete-and-steel footprint of the Port of Savannah — a facility that handled a record 5.9 million twenty-foot equivalent units in fiscal 2024, per Georgia Ports Authority reporting cited across industry coverage.
The port regularly ranks among the top four U.S. container gateways by TEU. Every inbound box demands a drayage move. Every drayage move ends with a driver searching for a place to park — for a 10-hour reset, a 30-minute break, or simply an hour before a return appointment.
The American Transportation Research Institute has logged truck-parking shortages near the top of its annual Top Industry Issues list for years. Federal hours-of-service rules cap driving at 11 hours and demand 10 consecutive hours off-duty. Drivers who cannot find legal capacity near the terminal park on shoulders of I-16 and I-95, on fuel-station aprons already over capacity, or in retail lots where they have been told to leave.
What $11.95M buys in concrete terms
At typical state-DOT cost benchmarks, a single paved truck space runs $25,000 to $50,000, depending on pavement depth, lighting, and amenities. That puts the upper bound of the Garden City award at roughly 240 to 480 new stalls — if every dollar reaches steel and asphalt.
Real-world delivery is rarely that clean. Land acquisition in a port-adjacent submarket, environmental review, and utility extensions routinely consume a quarter to a third of similar federal awards before a single truck parks.
Caveat: the announcement does not state whether the award covers right-of-way, environmental mitigation, or operations and maintenance funding beyond the construction horizon. The figure on the press release and the figure on the ribbon-cutting often differ by double digits.
Commercial consequences across the lane
- Shippers moving through Savannah: a marginal reduction in driver wait times at the terminal means tighter appointment compliance and fewer dropped slots, which compresses detention and demurrage exposure that has run in the hundreds of dollars per container per day through 2024-25, per industry tracking.
- Carriers and owner-operators: a hard parking asset in a region where hard assets have been scarce. Drivers based on the Savannah pull often overnight in Jackson, Pooler, or along US-80 east of the terminal because the in-port and adjacent supply has been booked for years.
- Forwarders: an indirect read that federal infrastructure dollars are reaching the drayage ecosystem in a tangible way, rather than through the broader port-modernization grants that tend to fund cranes, gates, and rail.
What's missing from the brief
The WTOC-summarised announcement does not say:
- Whether the $11.95M comes from the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, the FY2025 or FY2026 DOT appropriations, or a discretionary INFRA or MEGA award
- Whether matching funds are required, and from whom
- Whether the project is publicly operated or a public-private partnership
- A milestone schedule or expected completion date
What to watch next
The most useful data point to follow is the Federal Register notice or USDOT press release that names the recipient and breaks out land, construction, and operations budgets. Until then, $11.95M is a headline figure; what it builds, and where, remains the unanswered question — and the one that decides whether Savannah-area drivers spend next winter hunting for a legal place to stop.
Source: Google News: trucking industry
More from Marcus Bennett
Show full bio
Senior reporter covering regulation, policy and their impact on Ocean and air freight, container shipping at Waybill Wire.
503 articles
Related05
Savannah's $1.6B Ocean Terminal crosses 60% complete with 2,650-ft berth ready
Savannah lands Army Corps permit for $2.3bn container terminal
Savannah container terminal posts new monthly volume record
Savannah Clears Federal Hurdle for $2.3 Billion Container Terminal
Savannah's $1.6B Ocean Terminal Rebuild Hits 60% Mark