WW/TRUCKINGRA

Filed 612W3M read

Key Food, Uber Eats expand grocery delivery beyond 300 stores

More than 300 Key Food member stores across the Northeast and Florida can join Uber Eats, adding on-demand and scheduled grocery delivery to the app.

By
Amara Osei
Filed
Length
612 words
Read
3 min
Key Food Stores Co-Operative partners with Uber Eats in Northeast US and Florida
Key Food Stores Co-Operative partners with Uber Eats in Northeast US and FloridaMonsterDealz / pixabay

Key points05

  • More than 300 Key Food member stores across the Northeast and Florida are covered by the Uber Eats partnership.
  • Participating banners include Key Food, Food Universe, SuperFresh, The Food Emporium and Food Dynasty.
  • Eligible Key Food Co-Op stores can opt in, with on-demand and scheduled delivery offered through the app.
  • The announcement publishes no tonnage, truck-capacity, freight-rate or delivery-volume forecast.
  • Urban Logistics takes place at ExCeL London on 9-10 June 2027.

By Amara Osei

More than 300 Key Food member stores across the Northeast and Florida are part of a new Uber Eats grocery delivery partnership.

Uber Technologies, Inc. and Key Food Stores Co-Operative, Inc. announced the agreement to bring delivery from those stores onto the platform. Key Food describes itself as a prominent chain of family-owned and family-operated supermarkets, and the deal builds on Uber Eats’ continued investment in grocery and retail with national and regional supermarket brands across the country.

What does this change for shoppers and stores?

Customers can shop participating stores in Key Food’s Family of Supermarkets directly through the Uber Eats app. The named banners include Key Food, Food Universe, SuperFresh, The Food Emporium, Food Dynasty and other stores across that family network.

The selection spans fresh produce, meat, seafood, pantry staples and household essentials. Customers can choose on-demand or scheduled delivery, covering both an unplanned ingredient run and a planned weekly basket without leaving the app.

For participating stores, the partnership creates another digital ordering route for customers seeking familiar local groceries. The partnership is open to eligible Key Food Co-Op stores, and member stores can opt in as the rollout continues.

Prashant Garg, Uber Eats’ head of North America, said: “Key Food’s stores understand the neighbourhoods they serve, and bringing these retailers to Uber Eats gives customers greater access to the local grocery selection they know and rely on.”

He added: “Whether they’re scheduling a grocery order on the way home from work or need an ingredient they forgot at the store, this gives shoppers more choice in where they shop for groceries, and more flexibility in how they get them.”

The pitch joins neighborhood knowledge with delivery convenience, which is a sensible combination for supermarket retail. The announcement does not specify store-level inventory, delivery fees, fulfillment responsibilities or guaranteed delivery windows, so the commercial details remain modest, not sweeping.

The freight math: store count, not tonnage

For shippers, carriers and freight forwarders, the announcement provides no tonnage, truck capacity, freight rate, port volume or delivery-volume forecast. The measurable fact is store reach across two U.S. regions, rather than a quantified increase in loads.

The listed assortment belongs to last-mile grocery delivery: fresh produce, meat, seafood, pantry staples and household essentials. Whether the partnership creates extra mileage, dedicated grocery runs or measurable carrier demand depends on order density, which Uber and Key Food have not disclosed.

For eligible stores, participation means deciding whether to join a marketplace offering delivery alongside in-person shopping. For Uber Eats, the agreement extends a retail push already spanning national and regional supermarket brands; neither side has published a dated rollout schedule.

There is also no promised minimum order, service frequency or capacity commitment in the announcement. A store count is not a capacity number, and an app partnership is not proof of additional trucks on the road.

Automation stays on the event agenda

The announcement also points to Urban Logistics at ExCeL London on 9-10 June 2027. The event will examine autonomous delivery, last-mile infrastructure and the challenges of moving goods through cities. More information is listed at urbanlogisticsexhibition.com.

That agenda matters to urban logistics operators, but the announcement does not connect autonomous vehicles with Key Food’s rollout. The event listing is not a deployment schedule, and a trade show is not an autonomy announcement.

For freight planners, the announcement provides no basis to forecast rates, capacity or policy changes. The next useful indicators are store opt-ins and order density; until then, no freight-rate, capacity or policy trajectory follows from the announcement.

Original: urbanlogisticsexhibition.com

Share this article:

More from Amara Osei

Amara Osei

Show full bio

Staff writer covering regulation, policy and their impact on Ocean and air freight, container shipping at Waybill Wire.

731 articles

Related05

  1. RFID delivers 98% read rates and 50% waste cuts as Kroger rebuilds its supply chain data

  2. Kesko bets on automation for Finnish foodservice distribution hub

  3. Walmart opens 900,000-sq-ft automated fulfillment center in California

  4. Uber Freight doubles European 4PL wins, plots Krakow control tower

  5. Uganda Airlines Opens Entebbe–Accra Route to Unlock West African Cargo

« PrevNext »